My (sister’s) Big Fat Indian Wedding

It is here! The spectacular spectacle I’ve been dreaming about since I was a little girl… after months of planning, cutting, gluing, stamping, and fighting, the wedding is finally here. Rather, it’s a week away. But in true Indian fashion, the wedding is not just a wedding, it is THE wedding: a multi-day event, drawing family and friends from the four corners of the earth. Our family wedding is a relatively small affair, by Indian standards. By wedding blog standards, it’s a DYI affair. We made all the decor ourselves (with assistance from an army of loved ones, worldwide). Here’s a little preview of our first big, fat, Indian wedding:

The best part: reunited with family.  The happy bride and groom on the left, my mother and I on the right.

The best part: reunited with family. The happy bride and groom on the left, my mother and I on the right.

A sneak peek at our handmade wedding decor (all from recycled materials!) And our blushing bride.  And possible cupcake flavors.

A sneak peek at our handmade wedding decor (all from recycled materials!) And our blushing bride. And possible cupcake flavors.

First wedding event: the Kelvan, a quasi-wedding shower where family friends invite us over to share a meal of the bride and groom's favorite foods.    Above is my sister and her groom, below are my parents.  More info here: http://www.cuisinecuisine.com/MaharashtrianWedding.htm#Kelvan

First wedding event: the Kelvan, a quasi-wedding shower where family friends invite us over to share a meal of the bride and groom’s favorite foods. Above is my sister and her groom, below are my parents.

Yours truly, surrounded by community elders, and of course, cheesing at the camera instead of paying attention to the ceremony.

Yours truly, surrounded by community elders, and of course, cheesing at the camera instead of paying attention to the ceremony.

Stay tuned for more updates!

6 comments

  1. aww I love it!! Congrats Prachi and I can’t wait to see the rest of the pics 🙂

    1. Thanks Aish! In true Aish-style, I’ve been taking pictures of everyone doing everything. I’ve even gotten your hip pop down!

  2. Next time I get married (ahem, please don’t tell Jason ;)) will you throw me an Indian wedding??

    1. Absolutely! As long as I’ve had enough time to recover from this one 🙂 Miss you Stella!

  3. Usha Gupte · · Reply

    Whow! Great artistic decorations! Pretty pictures!! I feel I am right there !!

    1. Thanks Maushi! We’re missing you very much and wish you were here!

Leave a Reply

