Inauguration Day, 2013.

Inauguration 2009

Four years ago, in a dark, dirty university cafeteria in London, my friends and I watched excitedly as President Barack Obama was sworn into office. That historic moment was a personal triumph for me, as well as a triumph for this country — it was in fact the first election I had voted in, albeit absentee. It was the first candidate I played a hand in electing, from volunteering at rallies to mailing in that ballot, first-class overseas post. It was a true expression of democracy in action.

In that last four years, government and politics has influenced my day-to-day and my life decisions. These four years have proven that politics is not just dinner conversation for my father’s company over late-night cups of tea, but a force through which change, both good and bad, is effected.

And finally, despite the United States’ many failings, today recognizes the significance of the process through which power has changed hands peacefully, willingly, and with pomp and circumstances, for hundreds of years. Here’s to another four years of progress!

Leave a Reply

